Leadership Team

ISTEC Board of Directors


The ISTEC Board of Directors, whose members are elected by the General Assembly, carry out the policies established by the General Assembly, promote Consortium activities and have the authority to endorse proposals submitted by members. The Board holds regular meetings every six months, and whenever it is required for the correct operation of the Consortium, providing funds are available. It also has the capacity to admit new members on a provisional basis.



Dr. Roberto Murphy – President ISTEC Inc.

Dr. Roberto MurphyRoberto Murphy studied Physics at St. John’s University, Minnesota, and got his M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees from the National Institute for Research on Astrophysics, Optics and Electronics (INAOE), inTonantzintla, Puebla, México.. In 1994-1995 he was a visiting researcher at the Interuniversitary Microelectronics Center (IMEC) in Heverlee, Belgium. He is currently a senior researcher with the Microelectronics Laboratory, and the Academic Dean of the INAOE. Dr. Murphy’s research interests are the physics, modeling and characterization of the MOS Transistor and passive components for high frequency applications, especially for CMOS wireless circuits, and antenna design. Dr. Murphy is a Senior Member of IEEE, a member of ISTEC’s Board of Directors, he is the Treasurer for the Mexican Council of Graduate Studies (COMEPO), is a member of the Mexican Academy of Sciences and belongs to the Mexican National System of Researchers.

Dra. Prof. Marisa De Giusti

MARISA R. DE GIUSTIMarisa De Giusti is Professor at the doctoral level in the School of Information Science of the Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Argentina, and Director of the ISTEC Liblink (Library Linkage) Initiative since 2009. From 2007-2009, Prof. De Giusti served as R&D Director for the ISTEC Liblink Initiative, a project that involves over 100 universities in 22 countries across Latin America and Spain.

Dr. Marcelo Vera

Dr. Marcelo VeraMarcelo Vera is Director of Research, Development, and Innovation, and Professor at Universidad La Salle, La Paz, Bolivia. In 2008 Dr. Vera created the “Sun and Moon” non-profit foundation to promote science and technology education in Bolivia via projects that focus on productivity and renewable natural resources. The foundation also supports education in the rural sector that promotes the creation of industry and research in environmental sustainability.

Dr. Vera is also a member of the industrial sector and is the Director of International Operations at MobileTec International, Tampa, FL.

Dr. Wilfrido Moreno – Chairman of the Board

Dr. Wilfrido MorenoDr. Wilfrido A. Moreno is an Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at the University of South Florida and director for the Ibero American Science and Technology Educational Consortium at USF, (USF-ISTEC). In the area of research, Dr. Moreno is a founding member of the formerly Center for Microelectronics Research, (CMR), presently the Nanomaterials & Nanomanufacturing Research Center (NNRC) where he serves as the supervisor for the System Integration and Laser Processing Laboratory. Dr. Moreno’s current research interest is oriented towards system integration by providing “off-the-shelf” hardware/software solutions to industrial application in the areas of Digital Signal Processing, Communications, Industrial Controls, Microelectronics, Biomedical Engineering and Multimedia Solutions including Voice and Video over IP applied to Distance Learning Solutions.